Logo

About Allergies

Wheat

Quick Facts

  • Wheat is considered a Priority Allergen by Health Canada.
  • Some other common names for wheat are spelt, kamut and bulgur.

Be Allergy-Aware

  • Read ingredient labels every time you buy or eat a product.
  • Do The Triple Check and read the label:
    • Once at the store before buying it.
    • Once when you get home and put it away.
    • Again before you serve or eat the product.
  • Always carry your epinephrine auto-injector.
  • For tips on eating out, visit our guide for dining out with food allergies.
  • Some “gluten-free” products may be cross-contaminated if made in a shared kitchen with wheat products. Check with bakeries and manufacturers directly.
  • Check with manufacturers directly to see if the product is safe for you even if your allergen is not listed on the ingredient list.
  • Be careful when buying products from abroad, such as packaged foods and health supplements, since labelling rules differ from country to country.

Other names for wheat

  • Atta
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Enriched flour, white flour, whole-wheat flour
  • Farina
  • Graham flour, high gluten flour, high protein flour
  • Kamut
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (dinkel, farro)
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Titicum aestivom
  • Wheat bran, wheat flour, wheat germ, wheat gluten, wheat starch

Possible sources of wheat

  • Baking powder
  • Baked goods, e.g. breads, bread crumbs, cakes, cereals, cookies, crackers, donuts, muffins, pasta, baking mixes
  • Batter-fried foods
  • Binders and fillers in processed meat, poultry and fish products
  • Beer
  • Coffee substitutes
  • Chicken and beef broth
  • Deli meats
  • Falafel
  • Gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch
  • Gravy mixes, bouillon cubes
  • Communion/altar bread and wafers
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation bacon
  • Pie fillings, puddings, snack foods
  • Prepared ketchup and mustard
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, like chutney and tamari
  • Seasonings, natural flavouring (from malt, wheat)
  • Soy sauce
  • Candy, chocolate bars
  • Pie fillings and puddings

Non-food sources of wheat

  • Art supplies such as Play-Doh® and some glues
  • Cosmetics, hair care products
  • Medications, vitamins, herbal supplements
  • Pet food, including fish food
  • Wreath decorations

To Report a Reaction

If you believe you may have reacted to an allergen not listed on the packaging, you can report it to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, which may issue a product recall. Find out more on our Food Labelling page.

Download a printable PDF of this page.